Bellevue Library DatabasesBiomedical | Evidence-Based Medicine Resources | Non-Biomedical | High School Resources
BIOMEDICAL DATABASES 16 resources
ACP Journal Club An evidence-based practice resource from the American College of Physicians which selects articles that report on original studies and systematic reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. Coverage is from 1991 to present.
Books@OVID Online medical, nursing, and pharmacy texts, including the full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Books available include Facts and Comparisons, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests (Wallach), Kelley's Textbook of Internal Medicine, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests, Nursing Care Plans, Primary Care Medicine, Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics. CINAHL (EBSCO) The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Primary journals are indexed from the following allied health fields: cardiopulmonary technology, physical therapy, emergency service, physician assistant, health education, radiologic technology, medical/laboratory, technology therapy, medical assistant, social service/health care, medical records, surgical technology and occupational therapy. There are more than 7000 records with full text now included and 1200 records with images. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support Simultaneously searches textbooks, evidence-based guidelines and articles, Facts & Comparisons Drug Information, MEDLINE (1996-present), CINAHL, national guidelines and patient handouts. For clinicians.
License provides for 3 simultaneous users only. If denied access, try again later. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials. These controlled trials have been identified by the distinguished contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: completed reviews and protocols (topics in the process of being reviewed). Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects Full-text structured abstracts containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals, covering topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. Evidence Based Medicine Reviews A definitive electronic information resource for evidence based medicine (EBM) that combines four major EBM resources into a single, fully searchable database. EBM Reviews provides systematic reviews of topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled trials. The four components are: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the American College of Physicians (ACP) Journal Club for article reviews; and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Health & Wellness Resource Center & Alternative Health Module Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. Coverage is from 1980 to present.
Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database focusing on medicine and consumer health providing access to information from medical, nursing, and allied health journals, as well as consumer health and general interest magazines, newsletters, newspaper articles, reference books, clinical topical overviews, and pamphlets. Journals@OVID
MEDLINE (OVID) The major index for articles in biomedical journals published world-wide. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include clinical and experimental medicine; basic sciences related to biochemistry, medicine, psychiatry, public health and veterinary medicine; dentistry; and nursing. All citations include abstracts and full bibliographic information. Many citations have links to the full-text of articles at no charge through PubMed Central. MEDLINE (PubMed) The major index for articles in biomedical journals published world-wide. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include clinical and experimental medicine; basic sciences related to biochemistry, medicine, psychiatry, public health and veterinary medicine; dentistry; and nursing. All citations include abstracts and full bibliographic information. Many citations have links to the full-text of articles at no charge through PubMed Central. Micromedex The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series database system is designed to assist in clinical decisions and patient care by providing comprehensive disease, drug, acute care, and toxicology information. The entire collection of 28 databases can be searched simultaneously by using the Integrated Index feature. Searching can also be done by specific topic and within any number of databases within the collection. MICROMEDEX is available on campus only; no remote access. PubMed Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is considered to be the backbone of NLM's databases. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed. Additonal database subsets included are AIDSLINE, HealthSTAR, BIOETHICSLINE, HISTLINE, and SPACELINE, which were formerly independent databases. Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for all major databases including PubMed, Nucleotide, and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. UpToDate UpToDate is an electronic, full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Original material in UpToDate is written by an international faculty of practicing clinicians who are experts in their specialties
EVIDENCE BASED MEDICINE RESOURCES Evidence Based Medicine Reviews A definitive electronic information resource for evidence based medicine (EBM) that combines four major EBM resources into a single, fully searchable database. EBM Reviews provides systematic reviews of topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled trials. The four components are: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the American College of Physicians (ACP) Journal Club for article reviews; and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
ACP Journal Club An evidence-based practice resource from the American College of Physicians which selects articles that report on original studies and systematic reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. Coverage is from 1991 to present.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials. These controlled trials have been identified by the distinguished contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: completed reviews and protocols (topics in the process of being reviewed).
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects Full-text structured abstracts containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals, covering topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
NON-BIOMEDICAL DATABASES 18 resources
Business & Company ASAP Provides access to all the business and management journals, trade journals, newspapers and directories needed for in-depth research on companies, products, markets, industries, economics and management disciplines. It also provides full-text U.S. and international private and public company directory listings, and full-text PR Newswire releases on those corporations. Coverage is from 1980 to present. Business & Company Resource Center Information about companies and industries around the world. Data includes business journals, consumer marketing data, corporate information and press releases, emerging technology reports, and various investment reports Encyclopedia of Animals EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals database offers in depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database contains indexing, abstracting, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Within some of the full text, image links are available. Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia that offers more than 25,000 articles on a wide variety of topics. This source provides full text for all articles. Content is updated annually. Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Topics covered include Medicine, Business, and History. General Science Collection This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications, providing information on all aspects of the scientific world. Coverage is from 1992 to present.
Informe! Created specifically for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users, as well as title annotations in both English and Spanish. Coverage is from 1994 to present.;
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers Search a collection of over 300 newspapers, both national and international. This innovative Web-based, full-text newspaper database makes searching easy by letting you electronically search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned field. InfoTrac Junior Created for junior high and middle school students, InfoTrac Junior Edition features more than 100 titles most critical to their libraries and curriculum. With diverse perspectives and strong full-text coverage, students will find the homework answers they need to all their general reference questions. Kids' Search Interface A search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students according to their needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a state-of-the-art search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. MasterFile Select MasterFILE Select provides full text coverage for more than 750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2000 periodicals. Coverage is from 1984 to present MEDCat MEDCat is the online catalog of the NYU Health Sciences Libraries. National Newspaper Index National Newspaper Index gives you quick access to the indexing of Americas top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times (Late and National Editions); The Wall Street Journal (Eastern and Western Editions); The Christian Science Monitor (National Edition); The Washington Post (Final Edition); and The Los Angeles Times (Home Edition). Coverage is from 1977 to present.
New York State Newspapers A collection of major New York State newspapers, available full-text Primary Search Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Coverage is from 1990 to present. Searchasaurus Interface A colorful and easily navigated interface for elementary and middle school students. Topic Search This full text current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms, including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Twayne's Author Series Twaynes Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introduction to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the developments of literary genres. More than 600 authors are covered in the series.
HIGH SCHOOL RESOURCES Encyclopedia of Animals EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals database offers in depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database contains indexing, abstracting, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Within some of the full text, image links are available.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia that offers more than 25,000 articles on a wide variety of topics. This source provides full text for all articles. Content is updated annually.
InfoTrac Junior Created for junior high and middle school students, InfoTrac Junior Edition features more than 100 titles most critical to their libraries and curriculum. With diverse perspectives and strong full-text coverage, students will find the homework answers they need to all their general reference questions.
Kids' Search Interface A search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students according to their needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a state-of-the-art search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use.
Primary Search Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Coverage is from 1990 to present.
Searchasaurus Interface A colorful and easily navigated interface for elementary and middle school students.
Topic Search This full text current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms, including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
Twayne's Author Series Twaynes Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introduction to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the developments of literary genres. More than 600 authors are covered in the series.
|